I Don’t Need Pride of Place, But in Your Good Books I Think I Might Rate a Page

Is it frivolous to comment on things when I should theoretically be commenting tomorrow, in the passionate throes of New Books Are Out Wednesday¹?

Well, of course, the answer is: who cares?

So, onward and upward!

Most important news is, I’m afraid, music-related, and not comic book related: after comments, photos, and statements insisting that they were working on new material, we finally have evidence: Doomtree has dropped a new track.

The credits are much like those on No Kings, with Cecil, Beak, and Paper sharing authorship on the beat, and everyone who does so contributing verses (Stef, Sims, Cecil, Mike, with Dessa mostly just joining on the last recitation of the chorus).

The beat is odd: somewhat retro in its usage of synthesized noises, but very subdued and laidback. Unsurprisingly: the track is awesome.

Anyway.

It’s been a bad week, so I spun around the area (using the term “the area” loosely here) and filled a bunch of gaps. More (Flash Thompson, of course) Venom, more classic Valiant, classic Moon Knight, some newer Valiant to fill gaps there,  Justice League America and Europe (apparently, the latter is difficult to find, but often cheap as hell when you can), and most of the usual suspects. I finally have all of Friends of the Maxx, which pleases me greatly. And perhaps nicest of all, I plugged the single-issue holes in Uncanny X-Force (the second volume, the almost-all-female-except-one-troll-in-all-senses version) and Secret Avengers. Whew! I think I get why the latter issue was hard to find (it adds Venom to the team as Agent Venom), but I have no idea why UXF #10 was such a pain.

I’ve been starting to cut through the modern Valiant stuff with the first 10 or so issues of Archer and Armstrong–it’s almost like the satire Ennis likes to do, without having to pound into your face how much he likes having absurdly violent and/or sexual (and “and” can of course mean the two are combined!) scenes inserted, either for his own amusement, or for shock value.² It doesn’t linger (GERBER.³) and uses it to set up the character of Obadiah Archer in his entirety–as well as contrast him with Aram the Strong (guess which titular character that is!). There’s more character to
the villains, while the shadowy group of them maintains the vacuous simulacrum of “Obvious Satirical Metaphor™” all the while, not forcing the plot to revolve around the satire.

Quite pleased overall and, though I know it’s pissing some people off, I like that they are associating the universe with itself openly, as Bloodshot and Harada have been mentioned, while another character has appeared for relatively obvious reasons (I still haven’t read my classic stuff, so this was a surprise to me, and a nice one, so I’ll leave that to you to read, if you want–I figure if you want to know, you will, and if you aren’t interested in reading, why would you care anyway?).

Anyway, that’s all for the even…night. It’s definitely night here.

 

¹This title is still in focus groups.

²I suppose this might be to “further” the satire, but that’s up there with Ebert’s nonsense about suggesting you have to be a friggin’ genius to realize the Three Stooges gags in Evil Dead 2 are comedic. Pretentious dim-wittery, that.

³I actually found a “G” copy of an original Howard the Duck comic for about $.90 today (I got cut a lot of deals over the volume of shit I was buying, so any prices would be estimated). I think I will like it, despite my distaste for his work on Sensational She-Hulk.

One thought on “I Don’t Need Pride of Place, But in Your Good Books I Think I Might Rate a Page

Leave a Reply

